My Shiny Teeth and Me

Thinking about how people, including myself, filter the pictures they choose to represent themselves on social media, I wanted to give others an opportunity to see a more natural and unfiltered version of myself. To keep the pictures consistent I decided to photograph myself brushing my teeth. I liked this idea because not many people get to see each other getting ready in the morning before they’ve completely prepared themselves for the day. This provides a more natural representation of myself, although some days I had made more progress in my morning routine than others before brushing my teeth. I felt a moment like this would allow people to step into my life more, make their interpretations about me, and possibly make predictions on what I may have done the night before or what I was getting ready to do that day. I have always been interested in hearing how people perceive me and I felt this would give others perhaps a more realistic representation of myself.

Perception is something that has always captivated me. The meaning of any object, action, place, or anything all changes person to person based on their perception of said thing. Often these perceptions are formed from past experiences that cause a person to look at something from one angle, but rarely people are able to push themselves to see things from perspectives other than their own. Social media, for example, people often take as a true representation of a person when looking at their accounts not realizing that social media accounts are all filtered versions of a person. It’s important to look at things from different angles, even your own life.

 

_DSC0456

11:30am 

_DSC0669

11:00am

_DSC0455

5:15am

_DSC0663

10:00am

_DSC0660

9:15am

Leave a comment